Flashforward: kind of a dud.

26 Sep
Arms on hips=real acting

Arms on hips=real acting

Hm. I just watched the Flashforward pilot on ABC and I was underwhelmed. They revealed so much already it’s like they were afraid people would shut it off if they didn’t know why everything was happening right away. 

“Honey, why is this man wearing such ill-fitting blue jeans?”

“I don’t know. Just shut it off.” 

your parents

So much of it could have been revealed gradually, to you know, create SUSPENSE. Because suspense is good. Like how much bullshit is it that Mark figured out the flashes were of the future about an hour after they happened? He was like, “it was so much more vivid than a hallucination and I was holding a piece of calendar for the date of April 29th 2010, so there’s only one explaination…THE FUTURE” and then Seth McFarlane backed him up so we know he was right.

"If you squint, you can see the future."

"If you squint, you can see the future."

And of course the press has a handle on everything right away because we all know journalists aren’t real people and when catastropic events happen they aren’t affected so they can get to work right away. “We need to find out if any other cities blacked out too–get Paris on the line! Someone call China! Someone get me Canada–for christ sakes where is my headline! …amatuers, you’re all amatuers.”

And what about John Cho’s flashforward being of nothing? So John Cho may be dead within 6 months? BIG TIME PLOT! And they just breezed on by like no one cares about John Cho. I CARE ABOUT JOHN CHO.

And Mark’s wife’s flashforward was of her with another man. This was mysterious for two reasons. First, she seems to be in love with Mark, (she leaves him loving messages that say things like “fuck you man, I hope you die” all the time) and second, she has never seen this other man before. By the end of the episode both of these are revealed. We know she probably leaves Mark because he relapses in his drinking, and the other man is revealed to be the father of a patient (btw: she is a doctor. who isn’t?) C’mon show! NO SUSPENSE.

And then they show us one guy who didn’t pass out, and he is just walking around at a baseball game like normal. WTF. Couldn’t that have waited? Oh no, the one FBI agent who doesn’t have a boyfriend thought it would be funtimes to look at hours of security footage of people passing out around the world and she happened to spot the TINY SPECK of man walking around in the stands at a Tigers game. SOMEONE NEEDS TO GET LAID (and we know she does because in her flashforward she is pregnant).

Also, I didn’t really care for any of the characters (other than John Cho, I mean its John Cho, have you seen Star Trek?) and WHERE IS CHARLIE I NEED TO HAVE A BRITISH PERSON ON THIS SHOW WHO IS NOT FORCED TO SPEAK IN A TERRIBLE AMERICAN ACCENT.

All in all I felt like they were dumbing it down more than they needed to. Did anyone else see it? Have any thoughts?

12 Responses to “Flashforward: kind of a dud.”

  1. Eugenia September 27, 2009 at 2:58 am #

    >and he is just walking around at a baseball game like normal. WTF. Couldn’t that have waited

    No, this should not have waited. This is equivalent to LOST’s smoke monster at the end of the LOST pilot. It should have been there as it was, it was the correct decision. Maybe not in a huge stadium, but part of the first episode nonetheless.

    I wrote a review too btw.

    • itsfreckles September 27, 2009 at 9:41 am #

      Technically, at the end of Lost‘s pilot no one actually saw the smoke monster, it was just a loud thing moving trees around, so it definately still had loads of mystery attached to it. In Flashforward, a man not passing out like everyone else is not near as mysterious. Yeah, we wanna know why this guy wasn’t affected, but its much easier to guess these things when you know exactly what you’re dealing with. And I’m trying not to compare the whole thing to Lost because I know I’ll never like it if I do.

  2. Matze September 28, 2009 at 12:47 am #

    Thank you! I felt the same way and I really need to vent now. This whole thing reminded me of a Season 3 episode of Heroes: I want to like it but the acting is bad, the dialogue is way too campy, every plotpoint seems to be explained at least three times and then it’s all so obvious anyway. And the music… like it was forcing suspense down my throat. And Ralph Fiennes!! If staring blankly into the distance will be his schtick for the rest of the series then count me out. But I really want to like it soooo much!11

    The thing I love the most about Lost is how I can watch every actor and feel truly immersed. Every character is played so believable and the dialogue is so natural. “I dreamt there were no more good days”. Ohhh c’mon!! I had to watch the pilot of Modern Family three times after watching FlashForward to get the grief out of my system. And then I thought “well, maybe V will fill that void Lost will leave behind” and someone on some IMDB forum said that everyone who saw its pilot in advance thought it was horrible.

    Great. Sorry, I had to get that out of me. I’m just really frustrated. Of all the hours I spent watching TV last week, Modern Family was the only half hour I feel really good about.

    • itsfreckles September 28, 2009 at 8:17 am #

      Yeah, I totally agree. Pretty much the whole thing was a let down. I’ll give another chance (maybe two) to see if it gets any better, but I doubt it.

      I missed Modern Family unfortunately, but I read Edward Norton is going to guest on it, so I will definately be watching that episode! Yeah, I was interested in “V” too, but I heard some not so great things as well… I guess all we can do is give it a try.

      ps: You really need to get Shotime and watch “Dexter”! Season 4 started last night–best thing on tv!

      • Matze September 28, 2009 at 4:59 pm #

        Already watched the season four premiere about two weeks ago. 😀 You know how the internets is… it gets everything in advance. And it’s my only option anyway with me living in Germany and all. Dexter is fine but not enough to get my geek on. With Lost wrapping up next year and BSG gone, V supposedly being bad and FlashForward being such a huge letdown, I don’t know what to get into. Maybe Fringe.

        You should try to get a repeat of the premiere of Modern Family. It wasn’t laugh-out-loud funny but every character is so wonderfully quirky and well-acted that it is just a joy to watch.

      • itsfreckles September 28, 2009 at 7:12 pm #

        Have you seen Carnivale? That one is more of a dark fantasy, but sci fi too and very good.

        Fringe is just okay, I don’t really care for the ‘monster of the week’ format. It’s really good when they have a running story arc.

      • Matze October 4, 2009 at 5:34 pm #

        I have actually imported the Carnivale DVDs a whole while ago but I couldn’t get around to watch them, yet. The first few minutes already depress me so much that I have to stop watching every time I try. But thanks for reminding me. I think it’s time for another try.

        I watched the second episode of FF today. It was a little better and Jack Davenport, who I was waiting for, had some good screentime.

        Maybe it’s not supposed to be taken seriously. Maybe they are aiming for cheese mode with the campy dialogue and Fiennes full-on frown-mode. I can’t watch that dude “act”. Every time I start to like the story the camera cuts to him, squinty eyes, frown, gravelly voice… I tried to frown for ten minutes straight. It’s really hard.

      • itsfreckles October 4, 2009 at 6:14 pm #

        Well, it’s good that the second ep was better. I haven’t watched it yet, but I’ll eventually get around to it. I’m dreading Fiennes! He was the worst, and it sounds like he is exactly the same in the 2nd ep. Thanks for the forewarning!

        And Carnivale is kind of depressing at times, but when you get to the end of the first episode, it’s actually very touching. (And the whole show is awesome!)

  3. Cesar September 29, 2009 at 1:03 am #

    Sorry for my english…

    So, you are saying that the pilot could be better and more suspenseful if they let all the things you mentioned out?

    • itsfreckles September 29, 2009 at 8:53 am #

      Not exactly. I don’t think they should be left, but hinted before the reveal (I’m saying this about John Cho’s lack of a flashforward, who the man was in Mark’s wife’s flashforward and maybe the one guy who did pass out…I don’t know about that one). Things like that are just much more rewarding once you know the characters better, then you can have a feeling about it.

  4. Rune September 29, 2009 at 11:46 pm #

    So the FBI boss tells three FBI “street” agents that they “own” the case, and he except them to solve it? I hope NASA has a few guys working on it too, maybe some scientists or something.
    That suicide-guy was very considerate to pick a crowded pier to blow his brains out. Good thing he blacked out so that he could save surfers instead.
    I love the fact that they worked in a doctor in this series. I think no series should be without a doctor character. It is so important that someone can bring people back from almost dead whenever necessary, it adds suspense, and the writers get to almost kill characters at random. Worked out great in Lost.

    The show isn’t on here in Norway yet, but I flashforwarded and saw that there were no more good days.

Leave a Reply

