Whip It: Juliette Lewis is back, grrrlfriend!

3 Oct

whip it

After trying to decide whether to see Zombieland or Whip It, my roommate and I settled on Whip It because we both wanted a good ol’ roller derby movie, which doesn’t actually exist I don’t think, unless you count Rollerball (no one counts Rollerball).  

I thought this movie was pretty good, mainly because it was exactly what I was expecting: a light hearted coming of grrrl power flick with lots of ‘hip’ music.

Ellen Page was just okay for me (but I don’t really get the ‘genius’ of her performance in Juno, so whatever), but I thought the supporting actors were what made Whip It fun. Kristin Wiig, Alia Shawkat (Maeby!) and the tall bad guy from Home Alone (not Joe Pesci) were all funny and charming etc, but I thought Juliette Lewis was DA BOMB, YO!

"That's right: I'm hilarious, bitches!"

"That's right: I'm hilarious, bitches!"

She was cocky and funny and I WISH JULIETTE LEWIS WAS A COCKY FUNNY ROLLER DERBY CHICK IN EVERY MOVIE.

Anyway, aside from a few groaner moments, I’d recommend this movie if you want to turn off your brain for a bit and watch some girls kick ass (or Ellen Page make out with Landon Pigg under water for a very very long time).

And if this movie taught me anything, it’s this: “You can never have too much eyeliner. Or Lashblast.”

Thanks, Drew Barrymore. I almost forgot you were a Cover girl. And yet, how could I?

"Come see my movie. Also Lashblast. Trublend concealer. Lipgloss!"

"Come see my movie. Also Lashblast. Trublend concealer. Lipgloss!"

3 Responses to “Whip It: Juliette Lewis is back, grrrlfriend!”

  1. Senora Anners XII October 20, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

    Juliette Lewis is righteous.

  2. Jen November 29, 2009 at 6:08 pm #

    I just came across your blog, and the end of this post made me laugh so hard.

    Thank you for making me snort rice krispies all over Drew Barrymore and her lashblast ad.

    LOVES IT

  3. Jennifer Nalazek February 2, 2010 at 12:16 pm #

    Ace post. You have earned a recent regular reader. Please keep up the good work and I look forward to more of your gripping posts.

Leave a Reply

