Paranormal Activity: BOO!

22 Oct

paranormal_activity_poster

I’ve been hearing loads about how Paranormal Activity is the scariest shiz since Tyra Banks, and when it opened in my area I thought I’d give it a go (also I was on a date and it wasn’t my choice). 

I’m not exactly a horror fan; I can’t even remember the last contemporary horror flick I saw (it was probably The Others with Nicole Kidman or something equally old). Paranormal had a slow build with a bunch of little creep outs (banging noises, footsteps, shadows) that soon became a bunch of big creep outs. The actors, or non-actors if you will, were pretty good, and everyone who saw District 9 knows that sometimes non-actors make the best actors. The relationship seemed realistic, and both characters were likable, though sometimes Micah’s “I’m a man, I’ll take care of it” bullshit was a bit annoying. Stop it, Micah. Just call Johann the German demonologist already.

While I enjoyed this film a lot as a non-horror type, it isn’t exactly a must-see that I’ll recommend to people who aren’t really into it. But if you’re looking for something creepy this Halloween, DO IT.

4 Responses to “Paranormal Activity: BOO!”

  1. Shannon October 23, 2009 at 5:43 am #

    Sounds good! I’m a big horror fan so this sounds awesome. It’s kind of Blair Witchy, right? Like the “actors” are shooting it themselves?

    • itsfreckles October 23, 2009 at 8:13 am #

      Yeah, that’s basically how it was. They shot it for like $11,000, probably in one of their own houses or something. And niether of the actors have been in anything else, because they aren’t actors.

      One thing is for sure, there was a lot of freaked out people in the theatre!

  2. volchok October 23, 2009 at 9:46 am #

    I saw it yesterday and please….scariest movie of all time? not even close. how a movie can create so much hype is beyond me. I thought it was ok you know? definitely a good job taking into account the resources but its just your average horror flick.

    • itsfreckles October 23, 2009 at 4:14 pm #

      Yeah, I’m no authority on horror movies, and being scared is so subjective that some people will think this is the scariest movie of all time and other will think it’s elementary horror stuffs.

      And yes, they should definitely be lauded for their ability to make something like this on so little budget…so I guess that gives it more credit? Scariest movie of the year? I think that might be more accurate.

Leave a Reply

