Bright Star: Marry me

14 Nov

bright_star_poster-350x520

Bright Star, directed by Jane Campion, starring Abbie Cornish and Ben Whishaw, tells the love story between poet John Keats and Fanny Braun in early 1800’s England.

I LOVED THIS MOVIE.

I absolutely adored it on so many levels. Acting: brilliant! Direction: inspired! Music: lovely! Storyline: perfect! My friend thought it was a little slow moving (try watching Campion’s Portrait of a Lady, then you’ll know just how slow she can get), but I thought it moved at the perfect pace for the characters to fall in love and become so attached to one another. Throughout the movie I heard so many awww‘s it was insane. 

And I have to say it was refreshing to watch a love story onscreen to truly root for, in a time when we are bombarded with the likes of The Ugly Thruth and The Accidential Husband. Ugh to that, give me Keats any day!

bright star

Be forewarned though, Bright Star may require some (a lot of) tissues! And the insatiable need to read Keats!

3 Responses to “Bright Star: Marry me”

  1. Callie November 16, 2009 at 7:59 am #

    I’d really like to see this movie. I just have a real problem with movies that don’t end happily. I may have to make an exception for this one.

  2. Anners Scribonia December 7, 2009 at 6:21 pm #

    I wanna see this one now.

Leave a Reply

