My Favorites of 2009 (music and movies)

15 Dec

2009 is over! Goodbye 2009, you were pretty good! You were filled with great music and movies, and since giving my opinion is basically my favorite, I thought I’d share my favorite films and music of the year. Yay!

FAVORITE FILMS:

1.

2.

3.

4.

5.

Note: this is a very odd list for me (not one, but TWO sci-fi films?!), because generally my favorite movies of the year either made me cry, or are considered ‘dark’. Now, two of those fit the bill (Bright Star, The Hurt Locker) but the others are considered ‘popcorn’ movies, which I tend not to waste my time on. However 2009 seems to be the year of the smart ‘popcorn’ movie (I’ll just pretend Transformers 2 never happened. In fact, everyone should). Hopefully that is a continuing trend into 2010! 

FAVORITE ALBUMS:

 1. Veckatimest, Grizzly Bear

Favorite tracks: Two Weeks, While You Wait For the Others

 2. Primary Colours, The Horrors

Favorite tracks: Sea Within a Sea, Who Can Say

 3. Merriweather Post Pavilion, Animal Collective

Favorite tracks: Bluish, My Girls

 4. Noble Beast, Andrew Bird

Favorite tracks: Oh No, Anonanimal

 5. Dark Was the Night, Various Artists

Favorite tracks: Blood, Pt. 2 by Buck 65, Mimizan by Beirut

2 Responses to “My Favorites of 2009 (music and movies)”

  1. grstralnic December 18, 2009 at 9:17 am #

    Star Trek and District 9 are in my top two also! (i’m waiting to release my list till after i see Avatar tonight). I really wanna see The Hurt Locker and The Hangover.

    Good album list, I haven’t heard of The Horrors, I’ll have to check them out.

    • itsfreckles December 18, 2009 at 9:25 am #

      Both of those movies came out of nowhere to blow my mind! I’m not too keen on Avatar, but if I hear good things I will have to give it a try (because I basically felt the same way before Trek and District, and look where I ended up!).

      The Horrors are great, their two albums are very different from one another–Strange House is a lot more manic and sort of punky and campy, and Primary is very moody and kind of fuzzed-out late 70s post-punk a la Joy Division. Sorry if that makes no sense, what I’m trying to say is Primary Colours is the best!

Leave a Reply

