Leap Year: trying so hard to make me not want to see it

30 Dec

I’m assuming most of you have seen the trailer for Leap Year by now, or at least the tv spots, but here it is anyway:

What kind of person grabs a man’s sandwich out of his hands and throws it out of a moving vehicle? That sandwich probably cost at least $5, and now it’s on the ground because he said something slightly rude? If I were giving some chick a ride across country somewhere and she threw my sandwich out the window, I would throw her out. Just sayin’.

I think my favorite part was when she tripped and fell down the hill which was basically a slip n’ slide and she rolled down so far that the scene had to cut like three times before she landed in the mud. Falling down sucks double time in Ireland I guess.

And I’m super over the whole “American girl who is obsessed with her Blackberry and then causes an entire Irish town to blackout because she has to plug in her HUGE adapter” story line. It’s like hello–SEEN IT A THOUSAND TIMES BEFORE. Or maybe I’m confusing that with the whole “falling in love with a hot stranger and then finding out that your boyfriend is actually a jerk so it’s okay to leave him for the new guy” story line…nope definitely not.

And I can’t believe they have to pretend to be married and sleep in the same bed and stuff! A boy and a girl sleeping in the same bed?! THAT IS NUTZ!!!  And of course there’s that one guy who is like “make out with your wife in front of me please NOW” and then they have no choice but to do it because what other choice is there? Trick question! There is no other choice!!!  Will that kiss somehow cause them to unwittingly fall in love with each other? I seriously doubt it, but maybe!!!!!!!!!!!

Also this:

Whoever wrote this must have gone to the same poster writing school as this guy. I saw this poster for the first time in the theatre and I was actually embarassed by it because I had basically just said I wanted to see it. This poster made me look like an ass.

And as an added bonus the wonderful people who wrote Leap Year are responsible for such masterpeices as Made of Honor and Surviving Christmas, starring everybody’s favorite actor Ben Affleck.  

Well, I’m going to see it anyway because MATTHEW GOODE.

"Was there ever any question about it?"

4 Responses to “Leap Year: trying so hard to make me not want to see it”

  1. Sadako January 4, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    I don’t care how hot you are. You take my sandwich FROM MY COLD DEAD HANDS.

  2. Callie January 5, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    I’ll also be seeing it, because I’m a sucker for a RomCom no matter how shitty it is, but I’m not forking out my hard earned $8.50 at a theater for it. I’ll Netflix it. I know that these things have a certain formula that they are required by Romance law to stick to, but really, its soooo tired.

    Just a little originality please?!?

    I’m also totally with you on the whole boyfriend turning into an asshole thing. What The Hell? What was that movie . . . the one with Goldie Hawns daughter and Anne Hathaway. He started out as a really nice guy and then got all chauvinistic. It’s not like that IRL. People don’t just suddenly become assholes after you’ve known them for YEARS!

    /rant

    • itsfreckles January 5, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

      I’m going to see it in theatres because my mom wants to see it too and she’ll pay for me! Gotta love Mom!

      They have to make the boyfriend a secret asshole so when the girl dumps him for someone else she’s ‘doing the right thing’, rather than leaving a perfectly okay guy for another one, because we still have to root for the heroine and who likes a bitch who leaves her perfectly acceptable boyfriend for Matthew Goode? Unless that person is me, I would probably hate her.

Leave a Reply

