The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus: more please!

10 Jan

I super loved this movie. I saw it a few days ago and it has only grown on me more. It has its flaws (plot? what plot?) but for some reason it doesn’t even really bother me because I just really liked everything about it. The visuals, costumes, humor, acting. I loved it.

Apparently, it’s not for everyone, especially the elderly gentleman who got up and left within the first 20 minutes. Huh? WHAT MADE YOU COME TO THIS MOVIE IN THE FIRST PLACE? The first 20 minutes are not anything more weird than the trailer. Whatever old man, you don’t even know what you probably complained to the theatre employees about until you got a refund!

It was soooooooo fun! The visuals were strange and cool at the same time and it had this weird sense of humor that got a lot of giggles (not laffs, giggles). I was pleasantly surprised that it didn’t take itself too seriously; something I think it really benefitted from. And I just love all the clothes; Lily Cole looked so adorable in all her costumes (and she can act! imagine(arium) that!)!

Heath Ledger was wonderful of course and I think they pulled off the rotating actors very well. He was actually in it more than I was expecting which was nice (also I love his white suit and mask!).

While it’s not a perfect film (so how exactly does the Imaginarium work? oooo look! stilts!) I think it’s a nice final film for Heath. It even got applause when it ended, something I rarely hear in movies that aren’t about a British boy wizard.

I mos def recommend this film!

7 Responses to “The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus: more please!”

  1. Mark Hobin January 10, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

    I totally agree with you. The visuals were so inventive and hallucinogenic, it really didn’t bother me that the story was incoherent.

    http://fastfilmreviews.wordpress.com/

  2. itsfreckles January 10, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    I know, there’s just something about it that somehow excuses its shortcomings…a very rare thing for a film, I think!

  3. grstralnic January 11, 2010 at 7:28 am #

    I really wanna see this!

  4. Callie January 11, 2010 at 10:37 am #

    I have been DYING to see this, I just cannot think of someone who would sit through it with me. I may just take myself this weekend.

    • itsfreckles January 11, 2010 at 11:31 am #

      I know! I got my roomate to go since she will pretty much will see whatever with me. I feel like most people don’t even know what it is beyond ‘Heath Ledger’s last movie’ anyway. But go alone! Tis worth it!

  5. Zac Beach January 12, 2010 at 4:01 pm #

    how did you see this?

    • itsfreckles January 12, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

      In a movie theatre! It opened on the 8th where I live.

Leave a Reply

