For once the globes didn't suck (almost)!

19 Jan

I use the word ‘suck’ very loosely, because in my opinion, award shows always suck when the people/movies I want to win don’t. Or when they are mega boring (which is always).

First of all: Hell yeah Michael C. Hall finally won an award for Dexter! He deserved it since the first season and I’m sooooo happy for him!

I am also glad to hear his cancer is in remission. I hope he continues to stab, dismember and dump his Hodgkins Lymphoma in the Pacific for years to come.

I am also glad John Lithgow won for his supporting role on Dexter this season, which was the bees knees!

Ricky Gervais was funnyfunnyfunny, but that was to be expected.

And Glee won best comedy or musical! That is nutz and also amazing!

Mainly I am disappointed that The Hurt Locker got shut out of all its categories, including best screenplay, which for some dumb reason went to Up in the Air, the only non-original one in the bunch. “Everyone did an amazing job coming up with the screenplays entirely on their own, but adapting one from a previously written novel is basically the same thing, therefore Up in the Air was the best of the year, not The Hurt Locker or District 9 or Inglourious Basterds or It’s Complicated.” That is what the Hollywood Foregin Press said, and they are idiots (though they are probably right in the case of It’s Complicated). What I’m saying is they need to have original and adapted screenplay categories if they want to be taken seriously (by me).

And do I have to ask why Avatar won best picture of the year? I’m pretty sure we already established that the Hollywood Foregin Press are idiots, so I guess that’s why. In other words: idiots think Avatar is the best picture of the year.

"I'll just give myself a big pat on the back after you're done. Good job ME!"

This made up for it though:

AVADAH!

–Arnold Schwarzenegger trying to pronounce Avatar.

10 Responses to “For once the globes didn't suck (almost)!”

  1. Shannon January 19, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    How do I manage to miss everything that’s going on in the world? I had no idea Michael C. Hall had cancer and why is Arnold on crutches?

    • itsfreckles January 19, 2010 at 10:47 am #

      Michael C. Hall didn’t tell the world about his cancer until recently, because of the awards ceremony and people asking questions, so that news is very recent. As for Arnold, I watched the ceremony and didn’t even notice he was on crutches, so when I googled him and saw that I thought it was from another year or something. What I’m saying is I don’t know why he has crutches, but I don’t know how he manages to lug around 400 pounds of muscle on his body without crutches.

      • Shannon January 19, 2010 at 1:32 pm #

        Poor Michael C. Hall. I love him and he looks awfully cute in that picture. I’m glad his cancer is in remission.

        I’ll bet those crutches were specially made out of, I don’t know, something really strong.

      • itsfreckles January 19, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

        Recycled Terminators?

  2. Matze January 19, 2010 at 11:14 am #

    Cool, now people have two ways of defending that stupid movie. “The visuals are awesome!” and “Dude, it’s won a Golden Globe! Obviously it’s good.” You know what? Transformers 2 should be nominated for an Oscar. It’s time Michael Bay gets the recognition he deserves for essentially doing the same thing as Avatar a few months prior sans 3D…. Cringing while writing this

    • itsfreckles January 19, 2010 at 11:19 am #

      Yes, but Transformers 2 didn’t have floating mountains which automatically equal a Golden Globe.

      • Matze January 19, 2010 at 11:21 am #

        But it had Robot Testies which IMHO counts :p

      • itsfreckles January 19, 2010 at 11:49 am #

        I just want to know what space scientist designed those robots with balls. Oh, I know, it was Michael Bay space scientist.

  3. volchok January 19, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    “Idiots think avatar is amazing”

    damn right. How a film with such a recycled non original plot can be an oscar contender and receive such praise and make so much money at the box office is beyond me.

    • itsfreckles January 19, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

      I don’t want to totally bash this film, because I did enjoy it, and I understand why it should be nominated for special effects (duh) and even direction (Mr. Fraggle Rock invented a new camera for chirssakes!) but any awards that involve the writing of the story should immediately disqualify it, including Best Picture (no doy). I described the plot to my mom and she said, “Yep, sounds just like Dances with Wolves.” Ergo, no Oscar for Best Picture please!

Leave a Reply

