James Cameron is writing Avatar: The Novel

18 Feb

According to The Guardian:

Avatar fans desperate for a deeper insight into the world of the Na’vi are set for a treat after director James Cameron revealed he is planning to write a novel based on the box office hit.

Obviously this is a good idea because the best thing about Avatar is the plot and the dialouge, no doy. Like, I’m 100% sure if it wasn’t in 3D and set in such a visually lush world it would totally still be getting nominated for an Oscar. Remember that scene where Jake Sully was like “I have only been in Pandora for a month but I’m really getting the hang of the Na’vi ways and in fact I am the best at being a Na’vi”? I remember that. I was like, I haven’t seen a story like this since Dances With Wolves when it was EXACTLY THE SAME, but that movie totally came out 20 years ago so it doesn’t count. Oh, and also when it was called Pocahontas.

I’m sure a lot of people are really looking forward to this though, like mainly all the people who have never seen Dances With Wolves or Pocahontas.

These guys are like, "I would dye my skin blue for reals to read a book written by James Cameron!!!!"

I think ‘I guy 1 jar’s comment on the Entertainment Weekly comment board basically sums up the argument for people who think when it comes to Avatar James Cameron can do no wrong:

James Cameron is the answer to Quetin Toronto

You know, I never thought of it that way, ‘I guy 1 jar’. When a person presents an argument that strong sometimes it’s just hard not to reconsider your stance on the matter and just admit that Avatar: The Novel is a good idea and that yes, James Cameron is the answer to Quetin Toronto.

5 Responses to “James Cameron is writing Avatar: The Novel”

  1. kevvolchok February 19, 2010 at 4:37 am #

    I love how the reason to make this is to provide a “deeper insight”. Wtf do they mean? this is one of the most simplistic and childish stories I have ever watched. It has no substance at all. There’s no need for a deeper insight.

  2. Alison February 19, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    I’m normally suspicious of books based on movies (as opposed to movies based on books). I think its a result of every TV series I watched as a kid (Full House, Sabrina, etc.) pumping out a book series that was no way near as good as the show.

    An Avatar-Pocahontas comparison:

    http://www.slashfilm.com/2010/01/04/lol-james-camerons-avatar-is-disneys-pochontas/

    • itsfreckles February 19, 2010 at 12:27 pm #

      Oh yes, I saw that Pocahontas thing! Tis hilarious because its true. You know, I’ve never actaully read a book based on a movie, but isn’t it really just fanfiction but not on the internet? Any 12-year-old could enter their fantasy daydreams and write Avatar: The Novel.

  3. Callie February 22, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    I love you so much, so, so much, just not as much as I love I guy 1 jar. You’ve got a way with words, but that commenter should start writing screen plays . . . in leet/text speak . . . in his parents basement . . . with no spell check . . .

    Sometimes I hate the general public.

    • itsfreckles February 22, 2010 at 11:02 pm #

      How much you wanna bet that guy has been writing his own screenplays for years? I bet he is like “I am the answer to Stephen Spoolbert.”

Leave a Reply

