Oscar 2010 predictions

5 Mar

I’m a pretty opinionated person. This is why I have a blog, duh. I am especially opinionated when it comes to films. I worked at a video store for over 2 years and have so much movie trivia floating around in my brain it’s a wonder I’m able to fit anything else in there. Working at a video store is also probably why I am so cyincal toward the average American. You know, the average American who tries to return Pan’s Labrynith because it has subtitles. “If I wanted to read, I’d open a book.” That is what the average American says. I can’t tell you how many people tried to return movies with subtitles, who then rented Transformers and liked it.

Anyway, what I’m saying is, every year I like to guess what Oscar films are going to win (I think that is what I am trying to say). Because when I am right, I am happy. I haven’t seen all the films nominated (who has?), so some of my guesses are based on absolutely nothing, other than ‘that one sounds good.’ 

Who I think will win is in bold, who I wish would win is in italics, and if who I wish would win is the same as who I think will win, it is in bolded italics.

Best Picture
Avatar
The Blind Side
District 9
An Education
The Hurt Locker
Inglourious Basterds
Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire
A Serious Man
Up
Up in the Air

Best Director
Kathryn Bigelow – The Hurt Locker
James Cameron – Avatar
Lee Daniels – Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire
Jason Reitman – Up in the Air
Quentin Tarantino – Inglourious Basterds

Best Actor
Jeff Bridges – Crazy Heart
George Clooney – Up in the Air
Colin Firth – A Single Man
Morgan Freeman – Invictus
Jeremy Renner – The Hurt Locker

Best Actress
Sandra Bullock – The Blind Side
Helen Mirren – The Last Station
Carey Mulligan – An Education
Gabourey Sidibe – Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire
Meryl Streep – Julie & Julia

Best Supporting Actor
Matt Damon – Invictus
Woody Harrelson – The Messenger
Christopher Plummer – The Last Station
Stanley Tucci – The Lovely Bones
Christoph Waltz – Inglourious Basterds

Best Supporting Actress
Penélope Cruz – Nine
Vera Farmiga – Up in the Air
Maggie Gyllenhaal – Crazy Heart
Anna Kendrick – Up in the Air
Mo’Nique – Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire

Best Original Screenplay
The Hurt Locker – Mark Boal
Inglourious Basterds – Quentin Tarantino
The Messenger – Alessandro Camon and Oren Moverman
A Serious Man – Joel Coen and Ethan Coen
Up – Tom McCarthy, Bob Peterson and Pete Docter

Best Adapted Screenplay
An Education – Nick Hornby from An Education by Lynn Barber
District 9 – Neill Blomkamp and Terri Tatchell from Alive in Joburg by Blomkamp
In the Loop – Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci and Tony Roche from The Thick of It created by Iannucci
Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire – Geoffrey Fletcher from Push by Sapphire
Up in the Air – Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner from Up in the Air by Walter Kirn

Best Animated Feature
Coraline – Henry Selick
Fantastic Mr. Fox – Wes Anderson
The Princess and the Frog – Ron Clements and John Musker
The Secret of Kells – Tomm Moore
Up – Pete Docter

Best Foreign Language Film
Ajami (Israel) in Arabic and Hebrew – Scandar Copti and Yaron Shani
El Secreto de Sus Ojos (Argentina) in Spanish – Juan José Campanella
The Milk of Sorrow (Peru) in Spanish and Quechua – Claudia Llosa
Un Prophète (France) in French, Corsican and Arabic – Jacques Audiard
The White Ribbon (Germany) in German – Michael Haneke

Best Documentary Feature
Burma VJ – Anders Østergaard and Lise Lense-Møller
The Cove – Louie Psihoyos and Fisher Stevens
Food, Inc. – Robert Kenner and Elise Pearlstein
The Most Dangerous Man in America: Daniel Ellsberg and the Pentagon Papers – Judith Ehrlich and Rick Goldsmith
Which Way Home – Rebecca Cammisa

Best Documentary Short
China’s Unnatural Disaster: The Tears of Sichuan Province – Jon Alpert and Matthew O’Neill
The Last Campaign of Governor Booth Gardner – Daniel Junge and Henry Ansbacher
The Last Truck: Closing of a GM Plant – Steven Bognar and Julia Reichert
Music by Prudence – Roger Ross Williams and Elinor Burkett
Rabbit à la Berlin – Bartosz Konopka and Anna Wydra

Best Live Action Short
The Door – Juanita Wilson and James Flynn
Instead of Abracadabra – Patrik Eklund and Mathias Fjellström
Kavi – Gregg Helvey
Miracle Fish – Luke Doolan and Drew Bailey
The New Tenants – Joachim Back and Tivi Magnusson

Best Animated Short
French Roast – Fabrice O. Joubert
Granny O’Grimm’s Sleeping Beauty – Nicky Phelan and Darragh O’Connell
The Lady and the Reaper – Javier Recio Gracia
Logorama – Nicolas Schmerkin
A Matter of Loaf and Death – Nick Park

Best Original Score
Avatar – James Horner
Fantastic Mr. Fox – Alexandre Desplat
The Hurt Locker – Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders
Sherlock Holmes – Hans Zimmer
Up – Michael Giacchino

Best Original Song
“Almost There” from The Princess and the Frog – Randy Newman
“Down in New Orleans” from The Princess and the Frog – Randy Newman
“Loin de Paname” from Paris 36 – Reinhardt Wagner and Frank Thomas
“Take it All” from Nine – Maury Yeston
“The Weary Kind (Theme from Crazy Heart)” from Crazy Heart – Ryan Bingham and T-Bone Burnett

Best Sound Editing
Avatar – Christopher Boyes and Gwendolyn Yates Whittle
The Hurt Locker – Paul N.J. Ottosson
Inglourious Basterds – Wylie Stateman
Star Trek – Mark Stoeckinger and Alan Rankin
Up – Michael Silvers and Tom Myers

Best Sound Mixing
Avatar – Christopher Boyes, Gary Summers, Andy Nelson and Tony Johnson
The Hurt Locker – Paul N.J. Ottosson and Ray Beckett
Inglourious Basterds – Michael Minkler, Tony Lamberti and Mark Ulano
Star Trek – Anna Behlmer, Andy Nelson and Peter J. Devlin
Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen – Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers and Geoffrey Patterson

Best Art Direction
Avatar – Art Direction: Rick Carter and Robert Stromberg; Set Decoration: Kim Sinclair
The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus – Art Direction: Dave Warren and Anastasia Masaro; Set Decoration: Caroline Smith
Nine – Art Direction: John Myhre; Set Decoration: Gordon Sim
Sherlock Holmes – Art Direction: Sarah Greenwood; Set Decoration: Katie Spencer
The Young Victoria – Art Direction: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Maggie Gray

Best Cinematography
Avatar – Mauro Fiore
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince – Bruno Delbonnel
The Hurt Locker – Barry Ackroyd
Inglourious Basterds – Robert Richardson
The White Ribbon – Christian Berger

Best Makeup
Il Divo – Aldo Signoretti and Vittorio Sodano
Star Trek – Barney Burman, Mindy Hall and Joel Harlow
The Young Victoria – Jon Henry Gordon and Jenny Shircore

Best Costume Design
Bright Star – Janet Patterson
Coco Before Chanel – Catherine Leterrier
The Imaginarium of Dr. Parnassus – Monique Prudhomme
Nine – Colleen Atwood
The Young Victoria – Sandy Powell

Best Film Editing
Avatar – James Cameron, John Refoua and Stephen E. Rivkin
District 9 – Julian Clarke
The Hurt Locker – Chris Innis and Bob Murawski
Inglourious Basterds – Sally Menke
Precious: Based on the Novel “Push” by Sapphire – Joe Klotz

Best Visual Effects
Avatar – Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham and Andrew R. Jones
District 9 – Dan Kaufman, Peter Muyzers, Robert Habros, and Matt Aitken
Star Trek – Roger Guyett, Russell Earl, Paul Kavanagh and Burt Dalton

5 Responses to “Oscar 2010 predictions”

  1. IWantYourSass March 5, 2010 at 2:53 pm #

    This year was great for film, so much good stuff and all over the board. I loved The Hurt Locker, Inglorious Basterds, Up in the Air, Fantastic Mr. Fox, Up, Coraline etc. Particularly good year for animation!

    I haven’t seen The Blind Side (and probably never will), but I am pretty annoyed that Sandra Bullock is the favorite to win. I think she’s great but seriously? Over all the other nominees?

    I just watched District 9, and I’m still not sure what I think of it. I liked it, but towards the end I felt like I was watching a smarter version of Transformers.

    • itsfreckles March 5, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

      I haven’t seen The Blind Side either and also never will. It just looks like a load of bs if you ask me, and I’ve read that they definitely made it a lot more feel good than even the book it’s based on. I think Sandra will win but I’d be happier with basically anyone else in the category.

      I’ve heard that before about District 9 but for me the action never seemed like too much. I guess it just had the right balance for me and I thought that Sharlto Copely was so perfect in the role that I was really rooting for him so when there was a lot of action I was just in to it rather than annoyed by it. I dunno, I just love that film!

  2. Shannon March 5, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    I just realized Sherlock Holmes is the only movie I’ve seen in the last year. I’ve never even heard of most of these. I need to get out more.

  3. itsfreckles March 5, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    You do! There are a lot of great things to be seen! The world is waiting for you!

  4. Anners Scribonia March 5, 2010 at 6:34 pm #

    I’m rooting for Mo’nique.

Leave a Reply

