Alice in Wonderland: it was…okay

8 Mar

 

I wasn’t really all that stoked to see this movie; it was more of a ‘well I’m not doing anything right now, why not see a movie?’ and since the other choices involved either Sean William Scott or a person named Percy Jackson, I decided to go with Alice. It was alright, pretty good, not bad. The kind of shrug-your-shoulders type movie that is entertaining enough, but forgettable.

It was also just a weird script; it’s about Alice returning to Wonderland a few years later, after having chalked up the first visit as a dream. The thing is, the story is different from the original, but also the same? Like, the plot progression mirrors the original (meet the catepillar, tea party, croquet at the Queen’s, “Off with her head!”) but it was a little different…like one big deja-vu situation. Some of the dialouge was also exactly the same. It was as if the writer wanted to do an Alice sequal, but only wanted to have to write half a script.

Also, it’s rated PG, but just barely, I think. Now, I’m not a mother, nor do I spend time with children (unless you consider standing in line at the grocery store making faces at the baby in the cart in front of you “spending time” with children), so I’m only kind of sure what is and isn’t ‘too much’ for a kid, but I have to say that eyeballs getting poked out and moats full of severed heads is probably very close to ‘too much’. Right on the cusp of ‘too much’, at least.

Let’s just hope Tim’s next project (a remake of his 1984 short, Frankenweenie) is more memorable.

“Make me a bingo!” (Inglourious Basterds joke.)

Grade: B-

10 Responses to “Alice in Wonderland: it was…okay”

  1. IWantYourSass March 8, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    Wait, he’s re-making Frankenweenie?! I don’t know if I’m horrified, or excited.

    They used to show it on Disney channel when I was a kid, and it scared the crap out of me. Yet I still loved it.

    I don’t know if I want to see a remake, it’s so great as it is.

    • itsfreckles March 8, 2010 at 12:19 pm #

      I know, there are many reservations to be had about the Weenie, but at least he’s the one doing it, not someone else! Hopefully that means it will be quite faithful, just a longer version.

  2. Callie March 8, 2010 at 10:41 am #

    I’m prepared to enjoy Alice in Wonderland, but only because I kind of hate the story to begin with so whatever they do with it will be just fine with me and am looking forward to all the pretty colors. I’m really a terrible movie viewer.

    • itsfreckles March 8, 2010 at 12:22 pm #

      Haha! Well, like I said, the story is different…but not really. And you know what? The colors aren’t really that great. Mostly things are grey (out and about in Wonderland), red (Queen of Heart’s castle) or white (White Queen’s castle). That’s kind of it; not really like the posters at all.

      • Callie March 9, 2010 at 7:00 am #

        Well crap. What’s the point of going to a movie that you have not intellectual interest in if there aren’t going to be pretty colors. You’ve convinced me to stay home and save my money. I’ll wait for Netflix. Thanks for the heads up!

      • itsfreckles March 9, 2010 at 4:23 pm #

        I think that’s a wise choice, especially since I read it’s supposed to be out on dvd in June. June! It’s practically June right now!!!!!!!

  3. Callie March 9, 2010 at 7:01 am #

    *no* not *not* Why must I suck at spelling?

  4. kevvolchok March 9, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    Not looking forward to the film. Not even sure I’ll watch it but Mia wakowski-something is a terrific actress. Not only is she really pretty but she’s very talented too. I was completely blown away by her work in the hbo series In Treatment.

    • itsfreckles March 9, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

      I haven’t seen that show yet. As for her acting in Alice, I wouldn’t say it was anything special. 😦

  5. Sadako March 10, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    I didn’t really think it looked that good–you’ve confirmed my suspicions.

    A Franken Weenie remake though?! Nice.

Leave a Reply

