Of Jeff Winger, Nike high tops and nightmares

22 Mar

Wanna hear about my dream last night? No? Well too bad:

I’m in a crowded theatre watching a movie that I think is supposed to be Avatar 2 or something, because Sam Worthington is in it (because Sam Worthington=Avatar). It’s a fairly normal dream so far; I mean, it is basically uninteresting and kind of sad (deep down I must really want to see Avatar 2). BUT THEN IT GETS WEIRD: I realize Jeff Winger (from Community) is sitting a few seats over, so I move next to him, and we start making out. JEFF WINGER. Then I notice Sam Worthington is wearing platform Nike high tops, and Jeff Winger starts talking about something I can’t quite remember, but the gist of it is that he might want to start wearing dresses. (I tell him I prefer man clothes.) Then the movie gets so quiet no one can hear it, and everyone decides to leave, and on the way out some random guy tells me that my name and phone number were printed in the newspaper, and now I have a stalker. From there on, it just becomes a nightmare about a stalker trying to kill me with a knife. Yikes.

Aren’t dreams great? Especially when they are hilarious? (Jeff Winger? PLATFORM NIKE HIGH TOPS?) And I think it’s fun to try and analyze them (though I don’t try too hard). I basically consider dreams to be manifestations of deep-seeded desires, thoughts, fears, etc. and if that’s true, then this particular dream tells me that I am afraid of death (more specifically, that I’ll die alone), Jeff Winger is the man of my dreams (not even Joel McHale, but JEFF WINGER) and that I think Sam Worthington is short (hahahahahaha).

"The crazy-ass love of my crazy-ass life."

I dream quite often, and a lot of times they are nice and not scary at all, though sometimes they are nice and not scary at all and then abruptly turn into a nightmare. And some of them are pretty damn weird. For instance, in high school, a friend and I were talking about nightmares we’d had, and the scariest thing she had ever dreamt was that she got a B+ on a paper (for being not scary at all, that sure does say a lot about her), while mine was a pretty okay dream at first that eventually turned into me being dragged through the woods by my ankles while wolves ate my hands. Double yikes, right? I have problems.

Anyway, has anyone else had any particularly interesting dreams/nightmares that you never forgot? I’d love to hear them.

6 Responses to “Of Jeff Winger, Nike high tops and nightmares”

  1. Emmalee March 22, 2010 at 7:16 pm #

    Two dreams in the same night that I had:
    1. Being chased down a sterile, white, hospital-like hallway by a robot with scissor hands.
    2. Trying to escape the Cat in the Hat, who is evil and coming out the window of a tiny house. That house and the cat multiply and stack on top of each other as I try to climb to the top.
    I was probably six when I had these dreams.
    Also, a recurring theme is having my teeth break out of my mouth. Ouch.

    • itsfreckles March 23, 2010 at 10:14 am #

      You’re a regular Ray Fiske! You must have a deep dark secret that you’re afraid people are going to find out.

  2. kevvolchok March 23, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    I have the craziest dreams ever. And I dream all the time..Actually, we dream every single day, I differ from other people because I usually remember most of them. I have been wanting to do a dream log for quite some time now because I think it would be hilarious to read it.

    I have recurrent dreams very often as well. I dream that I’m being chased by someone or a group of people or some sort of entity all the time. This dream usually means that you have a lot of problems and anxiety during the day that you can’t quite deal with.

    I absolutely love to analyze dreams too and in the last months I really learn how. Although I love to do it, the conclusion is always the same: I’m pretty fucked up.

    • itsfreckles March 23, 2010 at 10:05 am #

      I bet that’s the conclusion everyone would come to! I think it’s interesting that you have a recurrent dream so often; I do every now and then, but for the most part, they’re pretty different.

      And yeah, I wish I took a dream log too, because it probably would be great to read a few years from now!

  3. grstralnic March 23, 2010 at 12:05 pm #

    Sorry, I want to make a mildly related comment, I got nike high top dharma shoes this week!
    I guess I’ll make a more relevant comment as well, the only dream I remember having, I experienced as an observer and in black and white. There was a couple in like the 1800’s or something and a guy comes to their house in a carriage and asks if he can stay in their house. And then I remember getting scared and they ate dinner and then he tried to kill them and I woke up. I must have problems. 🙂

    • itsfreckles March 23, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

      That dream is terribly interesting to me. Being an observer to other people in danger is pretty strange. And in black and white? I wouldn’t mind switching dreams with you! (You can have the zombie dream I had last night. You’re welcome.) You know, it almost sounds more like a memory or something…maybe a past life?
      :{) (That’s you with a moustache in the 1800s).

      And WHAT NIKE HIGH TOP DHARMA SHOES?! I didn’t know those exisited! I found a pic online and they’re kind of great. I like that they aren’t too obvious. Like, there isn’t a picture of Locke on the tongue or anything.

Leave a Reply

